A Life for the Living

"Do not pity the dead, pity the living and above all… those who live without love."

It’s Just…Poetry

When you hear the word poetry, what pops into your head? Probably a paper filled with words and emotions. But when I hear the word poetry, I think of music, more specifically the lyrics. I mean I would never think that songs could be considered poetry. I used to think that its just music that you dance under and the words are just what make it catchy. But one day I sat down and started to analyze the lyrics. I started to think about how the music just flows with the words and I realized (if you can relate to the song) you start to play memories in your head, memories that follow the flow of the music just like the words. There are songs in English that do this but I enjoy listening to what people in other countries come up with (not to mention that all of the good songs are now just played a little too much over the radio), and most of the time, it ends up being better than the ones here.

You are quiet… not speaking, please tell me something,

Tears now run down, from my eyes and yours,

You are quiet and I think I can hear our silence,

Would you tell me  why I feel so cold?

Chorus:

and Do not try to convince me, that I am the one to blame, that I am the one that wanted this,

I see your eyes ….so wet, If you want to leave, leave.

But don’t you ever try to come back.

 

You love yourself and yourself only,

I have never loved any other except you,

But you must understand the pain you put me through,

 

How you changed,

I don’t recognize you anymore,

You pained me so horribly that I will be living with it till my end,

 

Chorus

Last Chorus:

Please do not try to convince me, that I am the one to blame, that I am the one that wanted this,

I see your eyes ….so wet, If you want to leave, leave.

But don’t ever come back,

Please do not try to convince me, that I am the one to blame, that I am the one that wanted this,

I see your eyes ….so wet, If you want to leave, leave.

But don’t you ever try to come back.

 

This is probably one of my most favorites of 2010 and its not just because the music video is so ostentatious, I like this song because the lyrics are as poetic in English as it is in Armenian.  I just love to listen to this and think about what the composer (who is the man in the video) was thinking about. If songs are like poetry, him being the poet had to gain inspiration from somewhere, right? Is he referring to the girl he is singing with? Are they in love? Did they have a fight? Turns out they were in love and that after a fight they had, he sat down and wrote this song (now they are happily married). But what if they did not have that fight? Would this beautiful song have not been published? Would these beautiful lyrics have gone unheard? It is funny to think that we find inspiration even at our darkest hours.

A new feeling gets bigger in your heart

You feel it every time you look at me

That you are always thinking of me

You much long for me and die for me

Chorus:

I don’t want you to tell me words

that melt my heart of longing and love

Enough for me to tell me, I love you

These words kill me

With me, your heart is crazy

Even your eyes’ looks are crazy

It’s dear to me that you blink for a second

and my eyes will not see yours

I recently discovered this song, about a month ago, and I fell in love with it instantly. I put the condensed version of the lyrics above (most of the time its repeating the same verses). But this time, I have to admit; the idea of the music video did have some influence. When I listen to this song, I think of all the times I have been happy and all the great times I have had. I think about her, and how she came up with the lyrics, just as I did with the guy who wrote the other song. Unfortunately (as good as the idea is for the music video, and as beautiful as it may be), this does not pertain to Nancy’s life. As far as I know she is married, so this song was probably just written to him, and she did not leave him for a deaf guy.

So the next time you listen to a song, take into consideration the lyrics; think of each line separately, connect with what the song is trying to say, and hopefully it will be more enjoyable than just dancing to it…. off the beat of course. 😉

Sources:

Nancy Ajram: Ehsas Gedid 

Lilit Hovhannisyan and Vahram Petrosyan: Het Chgas

Leave a Reply

