A Life for the Living

"Do not pity the dead, pity the living and above all… those who live without love."

It’s Just…Forgeting

Heracir Moracir (Go Away Forget)- Lilit Hovhannisyan

Go away…Forget

Go away. Forget. Don’t remember.

Don’t remember the love we shared,

Who am I? Who are you? I don’t remember,

We are strangers to each other, never met.

Who am I? Who are you? I don’t remember,

We are strangers to each other, never met.

 

Go away. Let the world know, that I never loved you,

And I know well that you never loved me

You will remain, nothing but a dream to me.

And I know well that you never loved me

You will remain, nothing but a dream to me.

 

Go away. Forget. Don’t remember.

Don’t remember, the first kiss we shared.

Who am I? Who are you? I don’t remember.

Let us leave…forget each other.

Who am I? Who are you? I don’t remember.

Let us leave…forget each other.

 

Forgetting: I was actually thinking about this and I thought why not write about it. Some famous person once said, “It is easier to forget than to remember.” I agree that remembering is in fact a very difficult task but I disagree that it is much easier to forget. They both require time and constant vigilance, in the sense that if you don’t constantly look over your memory it fades, and if you don’t constantly look over what you are trying to forget, you never really forget. In order to forget you need some type of closure. For example, to forget a love, you need to know that there is no chance of the love rekindling.Otherwise, inside, you still remember and have hope that there is still a chance.

                           There is a plethora of memories that I would love to forget (things that till this day haunt me where ever I go) but I can’t because I never got any closure, I just went away, forgot, and never remembered (or at least I thought I did). See what really happened was that I stored those memories in a space in my brain, only to be reactivated by a familiar smell, thought, feeling, or this song. It is often better to get over things as soon as possible, to not have them linger around long enough so you are unable to gain closure. If not, you continue to live that horrible memory over and over again, in your dreams, in your thoughts, even in your everyday life. Until eventually you tire of it (which could be 2 weeks from then, or 2 decades) and create for your self…closure.

                            Sure, there are some people (people who are incapable of feeling emotion) who can just go away, forget, and never remember… ever! Those are the lucky people, who remember once every decade or so and never revisit their past. If only things were that easy for all others. The rest of us must wallow in our sorrows; eating ice cream, watching sad movies, and drinking until we are numb. For to forget is to take a part of you away, and that is the most painful thing you can do (next to loving and devoting).

                            I wish that things were much simpler. I wish that since superheros did not exist, neither did the bad guys. Those who hurt us, some not even knowing or willing to acknowledge they have. But don’t let what Ive said keep you from the world. It is only human for us to stumble along our way and get hurt. That is the only way we know when we haven’t stumbled and gotten hurt, its the only way we know something has gone right in our lives. Plus, if you keep yourself locked up from being hurt from someone, how will you ever find someone who won’t? :]

Sources: Heracir Moracir (Go Away Forget)- Lilit Hovhannisyan

Picture of Past… Present… Future 

Leave a Reply

