A Life for the Living

"Do not pity the dead, pity the living and above all… those who live without love."

It’s Just… Loyalty

Don`t go underground without me,
Please take me to your world…
In the night I found you,
Now I walk without you

Thought I would be safer here,
But all I see is where you WERE…
Now the night surrounds you,
And I walk without you…

Where are you now?
I`ve waited so long…
With every word I called your name,
Though I know you`re gone…

Where are you now?
I`ve waited so long…
With every word I called your name,
Though I know you`re gone…
Take me with you.

A little boy being loyal to his dog (and vice versa)

This song sort of has to do with the quote we responded to in class a couple days ago. Loyalty. At what point is loyalty too much to ask? Loyalty, like devotion, is a 2 way street and in many ways the two are very much alike and are dependent on one another. You cannot be devoted to one unless you are loyal and once you are devoted, it is implied at you are loyal. An endless cycle. But again at what point is loyalty too much to ask? Is it when a night surrounds you and you need someone to walk with? Is it when you expect one to come at the call of a name? Or is it when you ask one to take you to their world? I think (not speaking about me, but for a lot of the people I have met) the point at which loyalty is too much to ask is the point where you ask for loyalty itself. A rather contradiction I know, but it is the truth is people are afraid of commitment. To many, being loyal to one is considered a sign of weakness and the end result is people just having friends. Friends who are, for the most part, unimportant tokens of how popular one is. The sad thing is that the saying “quantity over quality” has no meaning anymore (in the social circles of society that is). In truth, it’s not about how many friends you have who have who aren’t loyal, but about the just one who is.

Its very hard to be loyal in a friendship and then lose everything. You put so much of yourself into another, when they are gone, it is like you have lost a part of yourself. You start to wonder what went wrong. Was it because you didn’t love that person enough? Was it because you didn’t have anything in common? Sure, those are all contributing factors but the one thing that splits a great friendship is loyalty from only one side. One person cares much about the other but the other side doesn’t and it causes a rift. The best thing is to do is to have neutral relationships but we as humans crave something more. We have a void that must be filled. With some, it is filled with that one special friend who cares much about us. With others, it is filled with many people (a plethora amount usually) who just care about us on occasion so we are able to drift from person to person.
Loyalty. Volumes can be written about it, yet only some really understand. Loyalty and kindness displayed by someone is hard to come by, mostly because others take advantage. But I, in my naive ways, still believe that if kindness is displayed then kindness will be returned… loyalty following behind it. Sure, during my venture, my spirit has been broken but I pick myself up in the hopes that I will be able to change people. Getting them to show kindness, display loyalty, and act upon devotion. Not as easily said as done but I will never give up hope. After all I am just oh so OSO ;D

Sources:

Serge Devant feat. Emma Hewitt- Take Me With You

Loyal Dog

One response to “It’s Just… Loyalty

  1. allisonte November 19, 2011 at 10:19 am

    This is a wonderful post. I completely agree with you. It’s very difficult to put your loyalty in someone and for them to just leave you. The song is great too! 🙂

    -Alice in Blogland

Leave a Reply

