A Life for the Living

"Do not pity the dead, pity the living and above all… those who live without love."

Gypsy Magic

Gypsy – Lilit Hovhannisyan

Never will I say never

On my heart they have placed a large lock

And now my life without you isn’t worth a penny

Your Gypsy mother once saw my future

She told me not to near you

Your Gypsy mother saw my future one day

But why didn’t she tell me that you are without a heart and soul

Chorus:

Your mother, who knows you very well

And she wanted to hold me back from you

Oh, the boy that I love is a Gypsy

And I don’t understand why

My heart chose him

According to the readings on my palm,

Na na neh x10

Girls, there he comes, up the road

Dont let us alone, my heart aches

Girls, there he comes, up the road

Dont let us alone, my heart aches

Chorus

He had taken me

He had kept me from the world

Then he left me alone

As if he was angry with me

Chorus x2

                       I myself, believe that our fates are planned for us. Of course not as others think it to be a straight path, I know it to be a web of choices that include some free will but most of which is planned. I also believe that some of us have the gift to see what lies ahead and while it isn’t an exact science, foresight is a powerful gift to have. Gypsy’s were, back in the day, believed to be trained in the gift of foresight. Their specialty being relationships and other human relations. But even if they could see what lies ahead it never really matters. We can’t really change what is coming. We can delay it. We can speed it up. We can ignore it. But destiny is destiny. If you are told that your heart is to be broken in the most brutal way by the person you hold most dear, it will happen. If you are told that the love of your life is to be your best friend, then it will be your friend. And if you are told that the person who will be your bane is the person who is closest to you, then he will be your demise. 

It’s even worse when you happen to see your fate and you do nothing to change it but that is destiny. You are doomed by your current mental state and feelings to carry-out out your fate. Then when you get to the end of it all, you know that you were right and it kills you. Foresight is indeed a powerful gift.

One response to “Gypsy Magic

  1. Pingback: Dancing with the Gypsies | Son of Xanos

Leave a Reply

